Evergreen Premier League puts TriCities club on hold for 2014

PASCO, WA — The Evergreen Premier League (EPLWA) announces today that FC Three Rivers TriCities will not be part of the inaugural season which kicks off in May of 2014.

The EPLWA maintains a strong desire to be a part of the TriCities soccer community in the future. “We know the level of talent in the area, and we already were seeing support growing for our new league from fans in the TriCities,” says EPLWA President Peter Ostrovsky.

500fc3The Three Rivers Soccer Club EPLWA bid was led by the youth club’s Director of Coaching (DOC) Chad Bodnar. When Bodnar accepted a full-time position as the new women’s soccer head coach at Eastern Washington University his focus shifted to his new job.

“I headed the cause and with me departing for EWU and not having the time to run the team it was decided the league should go in a different direction,” says Bodnar. I was excited to run things and had a good group (of players) coming in. I just didn’t expect a division one college coaching offer.”

The EPLWA Board of Directors voted at the Annual General Meeting on January 10 in Wenatchee to remove FC Three Rivers and accept a different club as the 8th member for 2014. The league will announce the new club shortly.

“We encourage TriCities area soccer fans to follow us in our first season,” Ostrovsky says. “We look forward to keeping the lines of communication open with leaders in their dynamic soccer community.”

About the EPLWA
The Evergreen Premier League is an elite adult men’s soccer league for college and post-college age players to feature their skills on hometown clubs throughout the state of Washington. The league’s mission is to cultivate “football club” culture while providing opportunities for coaches, owners, supporters, players and towns to enjoy the sport and all of the community-building it can bring. The EPLWA is affiliated with the Washington State Adult Soccer Association, the United States Adult Soccer Association, US Soccer and FIFA.

The EPLWA (pronounced E-P-L ‘wah’) will kick off in May 2014 with its debut season: Bellingham United FC (Bellingham), South Sound FC (Tacoma), Wenatchee United FC (Wenatchee), Seattle Stars FC (Tukwila), WestSound FC (Silverdale), Spokane Shadow (Spokane), Vancouver Victory FC and an 8th club TBA.

Visit the Evergreen Premier League online at: www.EPLWA.com



OFFICIAL SOCCER SCARVES PARTNER of the EPLWA: www.RuffneckScarves.com 



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s