Seattle Stars Take Hiatus, Will Not Compete In 2020 EPLWA Season

The Evergreen Premier League is sad to announce that one of our founding members, the Seattle Stars, have informed the league that their men’s team will take a hiatus and not participate in the 2020 season.

The Stars won the 2017 EPLWA Championship with a 10-1-3 season, finishing one point ahead of Bellingham United in the last single table, non-playoff season. They also appeared in the 2018 EPLWA championship game and made the semifinals of the 2019 season. They compiled a 35-29-12 regular season record over six seasons of play, splitting their time between Starfire Stadium in Tukwila, Goddard Stadium in Everett and French Field in Kent.

2014 Seattle Stars

With the Stars dropping out of the 2020 season, 11 teams will compete in a single table format, playing each team once for a total of 10 games (five home and five away). The top four teams at the end of the regular season will compete in the EPLWA playoffs, with the #1 seed hosting the #4 seed and the #2 seed hosting the #3 seed.

The regular season is scheduled to begin on the weekend of May 1st and will run until the weekend of July 11th with the playoffs beginning one week later. The championship game is set to be played on the weekend of July 25th.

Two new teams will participate in the 2020 season. The Everett Jets and Tacoma Narrows FC will join Bellingham United, Oly-Pen Force, Oly Town Artesians, PacNW FC, Spokane Shadow, Tri-Cities Alliance, Vancouver Victory, Washington Premier, and Yakima United in competing for the Peter Ostrovsky Championship Trophy.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s