Bellingham Takes EPLWA Championship For Second Season In A Row

Bellingham United 3, Washington Premier 2

After two Washington Premier penalty kicks in the first half, Bellingham United rallied for two second half goals to take a 3-2 win and their second Evergreen Premier League title in two seasons. Christian Caro scored the equalizer and Ivan Colin scored the game winner in the 64th minute to lead the Hammers to the championship.

The Hammers started out strong with Kaydin Wall giving them a 1-0 lead in the 3rd minute of play, but just minutes later, Washington Premier tied the game up on their first penalty kick, with Alec LaBarge slotting his shot past Bellingham keeper Hector Gutierrez. LaBarge gave WPFC the lead 40 minutes later on another penalty kick and they went into the break with a 2-1 lead.

Without their 2022 Golden Boot winner Ale Tomasi and all-time leading scorer Richard Henderson, the Hammers turned to two veterans to get back in the game. Caro tied the game up at 2-2 in the 60th minute of the game and then less than five minutes later, Ivan Colin gave them a lead, 3-2, which they wouldn’t relinquish.

This is Bellingham’s second EPLWA championship, following their 3-1 win over PacNW in 2021.

3′ – Bellingham goal – Kaydin Wall
4′ – WA Premier goal – Alec LaBarge (PK)
44′ – WA Premier goal – LaBarge (PK)
60′ – Bellingham goal – Christian Caro (Ivan Colin assist)
64′ – Bellingham goal – Colin

Photo by Andy Bronson of Cascadia Daily News

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s