Friday Quarterfinals Recap

Washington Premier 1, Yakima United 0

Derek Johnson’s strike in the 67th minute was the lone goal in Washington Premier’s 1-0 win over Yakima United at the WPFC Complex on Friday night. The two teams battled to a scoreless first half behind goalkeepers Brandon Limes (WA Premier) and Luis Biruetta (Yakima) but the #2 seed out of the North finally broke through 22 minutes into the second half when Alec LaBarge fed Johnson for the goal that made it 1-0. Yakima kept pressing for the equalizer down the stretch but the WA Premier defense held firm and finished off the one goal victory.

With the win, Washington Premier moves on to the semifinals on Sunday to face either Bellingham United or the Vancouver Victory. Yakima United’s season comes to an end.

GOALS: 67′ – Derek Johnson (Alec LaBarge) – WA Premier

PacNW 2 (6), Oly Town Artesians 2 (5)

The Oly Town Artesians scored a stoppage time penalty kick to tie the game at 2-2 and force kicks from the spot, but after an Oly Town miss by Marcos Santos, Thomas Nguyen stepped up and buried his kick in sudden death and PacNW took the penalty kick victory 6-5.

The Artesians opened the scoring in the fifth minute when Alec Zimmerman buried a pass from Max Hauser to take a 1-0 lead. PacNW answered at the very end of the first half when Andrew Rotter equalized off an assist by Sean Russell. On the restart whistle, the half came to a close all knotted up at 1-1. PacNW took a 2-1 lead in the 60th minute when Tyler Bjork scored off of a rebound that looked to be cleared off the line but was ruled to have gone over before being cleared. The Artesians put on the pressure in stoppage time and got the PK on a handball. Max Hauser stepped up and buried the shot to tie the game up 2-2 at the final whistle. But it was PacNW who buried all their PKs and pulled off the upset on the road.

PacNW, the #3 seed from the North, will face the winner of today’s Tacoma Narrows/Everett Jets matchup. Oly Town’s season came to an end.

GOALS: 5′ – Alec Zimmerman (Max Hauser) – Oly Town, 45’+ – Andrew Rotter (Sean Russell) – PacNW, 60′ – Tyler Bjork – PacNW, 90’+ – Max Hauser (PK) – Oly Town


Oly Town: Max Hauser (Goal), Allen Escalante (Goal), Craig Johnson (Goal), Joe DiCarlo (Goal), Jake Zimmerman (Goal), Marcos Santos (Miss)

PacNW: Tyler Hardin (Goal), Marcos Figueroa (Goal), Sean Sent (Goal), Mark River (Goal), Tyler Bjork (Goal), Thomas Nguyen (Goal)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s